Let’s talk about fit for therapy!
It is important that we both assess fit and availability–you may have questions for me about how I can help, scheduling, or payment options, and I want to be sure that you are offered the best support possible. If I have availability for new clients, you will see an option to schedule a 15-minute phone consultation by using the “Contact Miriam” button as you scroll down this page.
Where I practice
I see clients for in-person sessions in St. Paul, Minnesota and utilize an encrypted video platform for telehealth sessions. I am licensed in Minnesota and am certified via the Authority to Practice Interjurisdictional Teletherapy (APIT Mobility #8887 issued 1/14/22) under PsyPACT to provide telehealth video sessions for clients who reside in any state that has enacted PsyPACT legislation, including Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, and Washington DC. For more information about PsyPACT and a current map of states, please look here.
Initial Phone call (10-15 min) Free
Intake Session (60-90 min) $250
Therapy Session (45-50 min) $200
Acceptable forms of payment are check, cash, all major credit cards, HSA, and FSA cards. I use TherapyNotes as an encrypted platform for electronic payment. Full payment for service is due at the time of your appointment.
I am considered an “out of network” provider for insurance companies. While I can give you documentation to potentially submit to your insurance for partial reimbursement, please be aware that this requires a diagnosis, which I don’t otherwise require, and reimbursement is not guaranteed. I’m happy to answer any questions you may have about this in an initial phone call. There are many benefits to paying privately without insurance (increased privacy, no intrusion on telehealth coverage, no session limits, less pathologizing of struggles, and predictable costs week-to-week) but if you choose to use out-of-network benefits we can talk about how this might work for you.
No Surprises Act
When you initiate therapy, you have a right to know how much it will cost through a “Good Faith Estimate.”
Under the law, health care providers need to give patients who don’t have insurance or who are not using insurance an estimate of the bill for medical items and services.
- You have the right to receive a Good Faith Estimate for the total expected cost of any non-emergency items or services. This includes related costs like medical tests, prescription drugs, equipment, and hospital fees.
- Make sure your health care provider gives you a Good Faith Estimate in writing at least 1 business day before your medical service or item. You can also ask your health care provider, and any other provider you choose, for a Good Faith Estimate before your schedule an item or service.
- If you receive a bill that is at least $400 more than your Good Faith Estimate, you can dispute the bill.
- Make sure to save a copy or picture of your Good Faith Estimate.
- For questions or more information about your right to a Good Faith Estimate, visit www.cms.gov/nosurprises or call 1.800.985.3059.
Photo by Kevin Dunlap